2021 Driver Of The Year Shortlist

The shortlist for the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards has been announced, shining a light on the best-of-the-best from across the road transport industry, who continue to play a critical role in keeping the UK running.

With telematics-based categories containing an initial eligible pool of over 252,000 drivers, and nomination based categories receiving more entries than ever before, the shortlist has been drawn up after weeks of data analysis, corroboration by employers and assessment by an independent judging panel.

The shortlist contains drivers from major brands including Argos, DHL Supply Chain, Maritime, Co-op, Hovis, Gist, Menzies, Waitrose and Wincanton across telematics based distance categories, as well as Young Driver of the Year, Most Improved Driver of the Year, Extra Mile, HGV Hero and Lifetime Achievement awards.

Chief Executive of Microlise, Nadeem Raza, celebrated the calibre of this year’s shortlisted drivers, “The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, which is now in its seventh year, continues to highlight the expertise and sheer dedication of drivers who travel the length and breadth of the UK, and further afield. According to the judging panel, there is very little to separate our shortlisted drivers, who are true ambassadors of the industry.”

Independent judges included Chief Executive of the Road Haulage Association, Richard Burnett; Editor of Motor Transport, Steve Hobson; the Traffic Commissioner for London & SE England Sarah Bell; Executive Director of Microlise, Bob Harbey and Head of Talent & Operations, Road to Logistics, Jennifer Swain.

Sarah Bell commented, “After a challenging year for us all, I found this session really enjoyable. It’s so refreshing to be able focus on the positive side of the industry. It is this work that helps us keep a balanced view of life and reminds us all that the vast majority of drivers are hard-working, diligent, professional and resilient. Many of the references were truly heart-warming and humbling.”

According to Jennifer Swain, “It was a real privilege to be asked to be a member of the judging panel for the awards. I have always believed that drivers are amongst our nations unsung heroes, and the pandemic has really served to highlight that, so it is wonderful to be a part of these awards to celebrate the success and achievements of our driving professionals.”

The Short, Medium and Long distance awards draw data from Microlise telematics units collected throughout 2020 which is then assessed against criteria developed by the University of Nottingham’s Advanced Data Analysis Centre. Employers submit entries for the additional categories, which the judging panel review.

The full shortlist of 26 drivers will again enjoy a Porsche track day when Covid-19 restrictions allow. Category winners will be announced over the coming weeks.

Short Distance

Amy Kramer – DHL Supply Chain
Daniel Neacsu – Wincanton
Anthony Bell – DHL Supply Chain

Medium Distance

Gary Dyson – Waitrose
Bryan Grant – Co-op
Zygmunt Lurzynski – Maritime

Long Distance

Stuart Moore – Gist
Jon Williams – Hovis
Andrew Horrocks – Menzies

Driver Excellence – No shortlist – award to be presented to operator with largest proportion of drivers in the top 1,000.
Extra Mile

Ron Teskowski – Asda
Paul Martin – BRS
Adrian Diemer – John Lewis Partnership

Driver Hero 

Ryan O’Donovan – BRS
Lee Clempson & Daryl Braddock – DHL Supply Chain
Ryan Rosser – Waitrose
Paul Moorhouse – Travis Perkins

Most Improved Driver of the Year

Christopher Merrett – Co-op
Stephen Smith – DHL Supply Chain
Luis Miguel Vicente – DPD 

Young Driver of the Year

Nathan Giles – John Lewis Partnership
Agata Makowska – Gist
Callum Greenall – Miniclipper

Lifetime Achievement

Paul Guy – Hovis
Mervyn Cooke – Menzies
Stanley Bennion – Alliance Healthcare.


Mary Henry
+44 (0)1773 447407