Shortlist for UK’s Premier HGV Driver Awards Programme Revealed

2017 overall winner Rafal Kolanko collecting his trophy

The nine best UK truck drivers have today been named as the shortlist for the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards is published ahead of the awards ceremony on 15 May.

Bigger than ever before, the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards began with a colossal 180,000 drivers. Now just a few remain following weeks of telematics data analysis, corroboration, engagement with employers and review by an independent judging panel.

The winners of the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, Short, Medium and Long distance categories, are set to be revealed at an exclusive black-tie dinner. The ultimate winner will then be announced at Europe’s largest road transport conference – the Microlise Transport Conference – the following day in front of 1,200 transport and logistics professionals.

The shortlist contains drivers from DHL, Menzies, Co-op, Hovis, Eddie Stobart, Warburtons, CEVA and Culina.

Shortlists have also been produced across a range of nomination-based categories; Young Driver of the Year, Most Improved Driver of the Year, Extra Mile, HGV Hero and Lifetime Achievement Award and include drivers from Ryder, CEVA, Samworth Brothers, Royal Mail, Frank Roberts, DHL, BRS, Bibby Distribution and Travis Perkins. The winners of these awards will also be revealed at the black-tie dinner on 15 May.

“Once again the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards have grown, with the number of drivers included in the telematics based categories increasing substantially. The results again highlight the excellence found in the UK driving community,” said Nadeem Raza, Chief Executive Officer of Microlise. “Having spoken to the judging panel, the difference between drivers’ performance data was marginal and all those shortlisted are of superb quality. Those shortlisted are ambassadors for the industry and should be proud of their achievement.”

The independent judging panel includes Road Haulage Association Chief Executive Richard Burnett, Motor Transport Editor Steve Hobson, Freelance Journalist Sharon Clancy and Microlise Director of Product Stephen Watson. The panel recently convened in London to review the many entries received, which were anonymised ahead of judging.

“Beyond the telematics categories, the nomination-based awards also shone a light on exceptional performance in so many ways, from young drivers making their way in the industry and showing there are fantastic long-term career opportunities to be had, to those who have gone over and above the call of duty in the performance of their roles,” said Stephen Watson, Microlise Director of Product. “Reading some of the entries and the inspirational stories involved was a great experience, and we are proud to run these awards to highlight those that carry out such a vital role in the industry.”

The Short, Medium and Long award shortlists are based on data collected by Microlise telematics units throughout 2017. Now in their fourth year, these telematics-based awards are defined by analysing data from 180,000 drivers, assessed against a range of criteria and using a process defined by the University of Nottingham’s Advanced Data Analysis Centre. The additional category awards are based on entries submitted by employers, with all entries anonymised and reviewed by the judging panel.

The full shortlist of 24 drivers will enjoy a Porsche track day courtesy of MAN Truck & Bus UK, a supporter of the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards.

Registration for the Microlise Transport Conference, expecting to welcome 1,200 delegates when it takes place on 16 May at The Ricoh Arena in Coventry, is open, with the event free to attend. To register your place, go to www.microliseconference.com.



Short Distance
Ian Hedley – Co-op
Gary Padgett – DHL Next
Timothy Murphy – Menzies

Medium Distance
Richard Barnes – Hovis
Brian Holmes – Warburtons
John Patterson – Eddie Stobart

Long Distance
Alan Bateman – Ceva
David Cashmore – Culina
Richard Porter – Culina

Driver Excellence – Sponsored by Road Haulage Association
No shortlist – award to be presented to operator with largest proportion of drivers in the top 1,000.

Extra Mile – Sponsored by Bridgestone
Stephen Amphlett – Frank Roberts
Richard Durrant- DHL
Daryl Holness – BRS

HGV Hero – Sponsored by Ford & Slater
James Hilton – Bibby Distribution
Gavin Riley – DHL Argos
Nick Mouyiassi- DHL Argos

Most Improved Driver of the Year – Sponsored by NFU Mutual
Gary Hollinrake – Frank Roberts
Jamie Pladgeman – Samworth Brothers
Anthony Roche – Royal Mail

Young Driver of the Year – Sponsored by Santander
Jake Brotherhood – Samworth Brothers
Michael Coker – Ceva
Aaron Haynes – Ryder

Lifetime Achievement – Sponsored by Apex
Angus Campbell – Travis Perkins
Robert Hughes – Bibby Distribution
Mark Lyons – Frank Roberts

Microlise telematics, proof of delivery and journey management solutions help its customers reduce costs and the environmental impact of their fleet operations. This is achieved by maximising vehicle utilisation, increasing operational efficiency and improving economy and safety; whilst helping to deliver the very best customer experience by providing real-time visibility of the fleet against schedule.

A privately owned business based in Nottingham in the UK, Microlise invests significantly in research and development annually to ensure its solutions continue to be underpinned by market-leading technology. Microlise helps its customers to save more than £210m each year in fuel costs and reduce CO2 emissions by hundreds of thousands of metric tonnes.