Microlise Driver of the Year Awards Shortlist Announced  

award-dotyWith the Microlise Transport Conference just weeks away, the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards shortlist has today been announced.

The list includes three drivers in each category including Short, Medium and Long Distance, as well as Extra Mile, HGV Hero, Lifetime Achievement, Most Improved and Young Driver categories, which are new for this year.

The shortlisted drivers are from a range of organisations including; B&Q, Bibby Distribution, Bidvest, BOC, Ceva, Culina, Downton, Fowler Welch, Hovis, John Mitchell Haulage, Next, Samworth Brothers, Synergy, Warburtons and WM Armstrong Transport.

The full shortlist of 24 drivers will enjoy a Porsche track day courtesy of MAN Truck & Bus UK.

The independent judging panel gathered recently in London to review the many entries received. It comprised Road Haulage Association CEO Richard Burnett; Honorary Professor at Aston Business School and former MAN Truck & Bus UK CEO Des Evans; Road Transport Media Managing Editor Christopher Walton; Motion Magazine editor Sharon Clancy and Microlise Executive Director Bob Harbey.

“The judging was tough this year with so many strong entries and a lot of extremely skilled drivers with A grade Microlise reports,” said Richard Burnett. “The role that drivers play often goes unrecognised and we are pleased to once again be supporting the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards as they shine a light on the brightest performers in our industry.”

The short, medium and long award shortlists, which are now in their second year, are defined by analysing data from 100,000 drivers assessed against a range of criteria, based on data collected by Microlise telematics units throughout 2015.

The University of Nottingham’s Advanced Data Analysis Centre reviewed the captured data to generate the initial shortlist, with questionnaires then collected for each driver, to highlight reasons why they might be a deserving winner.

For the new categories this year, the judges reviewed nominations which were submitted online through the Microlise Transport Conference website.

The shortlisted drivers will have the potential to be named winner of their category at the Microlise Transport Conference on 18 May at the Ricoh Arena.

The Microlise Transport Conference features speakers from a range of organisations, as well as an exhibition area of industry associations and suppliers. The conference, which is chaired by one of Britain’s best-known motoring journalist Quentin Willson, is expected to attract upwards of 1,000 delegates, making it the largest dedicated road transport conference in Europe.

For further information on the Microlise Transport Conference and the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, or to register to attend the conference, please visit www.microliseconference.com/awards.


About Microlise
Microlise telematics and proof of delivery solutions help its customers reduce costs and the environmental impact of their fleet operations. This is achieved by maximising vehicle utilisation, increasing operational efficiency and improving economy and safety; whilst helping to deliver the very best customer experience by providing real-time visibility of the fleet against schedule.

A privately owned business based in Nottingham in the UK, Microlise invests significantly in research and development annually to ensure its solutions continue to be underpinned by market-leading technology. Microlise helps its customers to save more than £175m each year in fuel costs and reduce CO2 emissions by hundreds of thousands of metric tonnes.

Shortlisted Drivers

Category Driver Name Company
Long Distance Category MCLEOD, K W Downton
Long Distance Category Alan Fletcher (PEN) Samworth Brothers
Long Distance Category Stephenson, Mcalcolm James WM Armstrong Group
Medium Distance Category Lewis Anthony Daniel Ceva
Medium Distance Category Ian Cupples John Mitchell Haulage
Medium Distance Category Douglas Thornton John Mitchell Haulage
Short Distance Category Bramhill, John Culina
Short Distance Category Lercara, Giorgio. Culina
Short Distance Category Gallagher Malcoln Paul Fowler Welch
Extra Mile Paul Burns Hovis
Extra Mile Matt Hill Bibby Distribution
Extra Mile John Headridge B&Q
HGV Hero Daniel Ogden Bidvest
HGV Hero Jamey Pursey B&Q
HGV Hero Kevin Burden B&Q
Lifetime Achievement Martin Bryant BOC
Lifetime Achievement David Worth Samworth Brothers
Lifetime Achievement Anthony Watts Culina
Most Improved Driver of the Year Dainis Spragalis Synergy
Most Improved Driver of the Year Paul Chadwick Next
Most Improved Driver of the Year Neisha Burniston Samworth Brothers
Young Driver of the Year Mark Broxham Ceva
Young Driver of the Year Michael Stanulis Warburtons
Young Driver of the Year Tom Levitt Samworth Brothers


To view the shortlist online go to: www.microliseconference.com/awards.

Available Imagery:


Share this: